Thread: patch please

Default patch please

I just started playing FFIII recently and I noticed something that really bugs me....

On the battle screen at the bottom left there's all that commentary junk that says stuff like "slain" or defeated" or "2x hit" or "victory" and its kind of annoying

does anyone know where I can get an FFIII rom patch that gets rid of that text that pops up or an editor that i can use myself to fix it?

thanks

One Hundred Chimneys Recognized Member Tavrobel's Avatar
    Articles
    Contributions
    • Former Site Staff

They are not going to get rid of it, because it was part of the original game. It can't be "patched", because it is not a glitch, interferes very little, and the purpose was to keep you informed of what your characters do. If you did not have that box, you would not know wether you have an ambush or a First Strike, which could mean the difference between a save file load, and continuing. It really is out of your way, so there is no point in trying to get rid of it. It could get less annoying if you change the text speed setting to 8 instead of 6, when you are loading save files. (bring selector over the file you wish to load, and before pressing "A", press left to decrease the text speed, or right to increase it.

The only way to get rid of it is to hack the Rom, which requires quite a bit of hacking knowledge and coding expertise/experience. But beyond yourself, most people will not be worrying about it, or, more often than most, will prefer it to not having any "commentary", so if you did hack the Rom and "fix" it, it would probably be more of a personal thing.

HEIDEGGER SI MY BISHI!!!1 DJZen's Avatar

Why are you annoyed at it? It's an important part of the battle system.