Thread: Rhythm Tengoku

Default Rhythm Tengoku

Has anyone tried this GBA game? It's Japan-only at the moment. It's a rhythm game by the creators of Wario Ware. I've tried it, and it seems pretty fun.

I haven't played it enough to go into a lot of detail, so I'll wait for JKTrix to pop in and give some more details.

Ten-Year Vet Recognized Member Kawaii Ryűkishi's Avatar
    Contributions
    • Former Cid's Knight
    • Former Administrator

It looks all right. Not even approaching Ouendan-caliber goodness, but a decent diversion.

Very few games are as good as Ouendan. ;)

oreodaredattoomotteyagaru Recognized Member JKTrix's Avatar
    Articles
    Blog Entries
    Contributions
    • Former Editor
    • Former Site Staff

Being a musician, I'm a huge fan of music games, especially where what you do actually affects the music. DDR is cool, but the music isn't modified by what you're doing. 2 of my favourite music games are on the DS, those are Ouendan and Daigasso! Band Brothers (with the GBA expansion).

One thing Rhythm Heaven has going for it is variety, which shouldn't be surprising since it's by the 'WarioWare' folks. If you watch that video you should get a good idea of some of the different types of games in there. It shows 5 of them, and there are at least 20 more different types of games which are then remixed later in the game. This week's edition of the 1UP show had a segment just on the game with 2 of their editors discussing it. It shows more of the games, and they describe it really well. Video Clip of the Rhythm Heaven segment here.